Legislators were instrumental in supporting the arts community during the 2021 legislative session!

Lew Wallace | March 31, 2022

As we know, the pandemic took a huge toll on the institutions, artists and creators that play a critical role in Western Connecticut’s economy, community life, and the education of our children. The state funding legislators directed to the arts community has been instrumental in keeping our doors open, enabling us to pivot to on-line and keep people working. Area legislators secured over $1,000,000 for art, history and cultural organizations in our municipalities of Bethel, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Redding, Ridgefield and Sherman.

While this funding has been critical to the survival of the arts, we know that the impact of the pandemic will be with us for some time. Audiences will need to feel safe before returning to their favorite arts venues and those who work in the community will need time to get back on track financially.

Our legislators supported the arts community during the 2021 session. Thank you! We hope we can rely on their continued support for the arts community as we continue to recover from Covid closures.

Lew Wallace is the President and Chairman of the Cultural Alliance of Western Connecticut.

To our Allies, please let our legislators know you appreciate their support!

Representative Towns Served District
Raghib Allie-Brennan Bethel, Danbury, Newtown, Redding 2
William Buckbee New Milford 67
Cindy Harrison Bridgewater 69
Mitch Bolinsky Newtown 106
Stephen Harding Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury 107
Patrick Callahan Danbury, New Fairfield, New Milford, Sherman 108
David Arconti Jr. Danbury 109
Bob Godfrey Danbury 110
Aimee Berger-Girvalo Ridgefield 111
Tony Scott Newtown 112
Anne Hughes Redding, Weston 135
Kenneth Gucker Danbury, New Fairfield, Ridgefield 138
Senator Towns Served District
Julie Kushner Bethel, Danbury, New Fairfield, Sherman 24th
Will Haskell Bethel, New Canaan, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Westport, Wilton 26th
Tony Hwang Newtown, Weston, Westport 28th
Craig Miner Brookfield, New Milford 30th
Eric C. Berthel Bridgewater 32nd